?

Log in

No account? Create an account
Lakeshore
An author of no particular popularity

Jay Lake
Date: 2011-02-24 05:35
Subject: [process] How I actually spend my time
Security: Public
Tags:child, personal, process, work, writing
Inspired in part by [info]nancyfulda...

4:00 amWake up, exercise
4:30 amRead blogroll, write/post blogs
5:30 amBreakfast, shower, dress for the day
6:00 amBegin Day Jobbery
11:30 amLunch with someone, somewhere
3:00 pmFinish Day Jobbery, help [info]the_child with her homework
6:00 pmDinner
7:00 pmWriting time
9:00 pmReading time
10:00 pmGo to sleep


To belabor the obvious, this is an idealized version of my schedule. Reality intrudes constantly in various ways. But as I've often observed, note that I don't have commuting time, and I don't spend time on gaming or television watching. And I sleep (ideally) six hours per night. Seven hours if I'm feeling peaky. My life is made of ferocious time management and dedication to task.

What does your day look like?

Post A Comment | 9 Comments | | Flag | Link






Kari Sperring
User: la_marquise_de_
Date: 2011-02-24 14:10 (UTC)
Subject: (no subject)
I can't get by with that little sleep, alas. And everything I do is interrupted by cats.
Reply | Thread | Link



User: joycemocha
Date: 2011-02-24 15:12 (UTC)
Subject: (no subject)
My days?

Work days:

4:30 am--wake up, breakfast, write, read e-mail and blogs if time
6:00 am--in car, on way to work
7:00 am--arrive at work, begin Day Jobbery
12:15 pm, 2:15 pm, or 3:15 pm--Blearily contemplate whether I can leave Day Jobbe or not
1:00, 3:00, or 4:30--Actually leave Day Jobbe for a.)skiing, b.) barn, c.) home, d.) errands, or e.) Fat Straw (Tuesday only).

Whatever leaving time...ski, ride, errands, Fat Straw or home.

Once home: Chores. Wintertime, build fire in woodstove for DH to warm by once he walks home. Check e-mail, blogs. Read. Edit. If deathmarch, write.
Bed between 8:30-10:00 pm, depending upon day of the week and whether next day is Day Jobbe day or not, plus whether I'm brewing a bug thanks to the kiddos.

Non-Day Jobbe Days--

Up at 5:30 am. Email, blogs, write
If ski day, leave for slopes at 7:30 am.
If barn day, leave for barn at 10:00 am.
If neither, write, then do household chores and errands.
If class day, leave house at 7:00 am to go to PSU.
Reply | Thread | Link



Renfield
User: cuddlycthulhu
Date: 2011-02-24 16:02 (UTC)
Subject: (no subject)
7:15 - First Alarm
7:20 - Second Alarm, get up, shower, prepare work clothes and get dressed
7:50 - Read sites that are blocked at work
8:00 - Head to the office
12:30 - Come home for lunch, read blogs, write a little or read a book
5:30 - Finish work, either stop and run errands on the way home or come home and do some work around the house
6:30-7:30 - Sometime in there have dinner, spend time with the wife
9:30-10:30 - Wife falls asleep, come down stairs to edit, read, write or play a video game
11:30 - Write
2:00 - Sleep
Reply | Thread | Link



User: deborahjross
Date: 2011-02-24 19:35 (UTC)
Subject: (no subject)
(Again, ideally) Maybe writing this down will help me to better order...

7 am haul ass out of bed, deal with pet medications
7:30 yoga or strength training
8:00 B'fast
8:30 Piano practice
9:30 Internet noodling
10:00 Writing/editing
12:00 Lunch
12:30 Writing or housework or nap or some combination
3:00 exercise break--dog walking, stationary bike--or garden work
4:00 Yet another attempt to get something written
5:00 Dinner prep, depending on day
6:00 Dinner
8:00 Down time
10:00 shower and bed
Reply | Thread | Link



emmainfiniti
User: emmainfiniti
Date: 2011-02-25 00:33 (UTC)
Subject: Workdays
4:50 or 5:00 am Wake up, coffee, surf LJ & other websites
6:00 am if good, exercise; if bad, continue as above
6:30 am shower, dress for the day
7:00 am start commute to work
7:30 Begin Day Jobbery
11:00 am Lunch (sometimes at my desk because of workload [1/2 hour], sometimes with someone[1 hour], sometimes at my desk because of yoga[1/4 hour], sometimes lunch + crochet with coworkers[1 hour])
11:45 am (Tuesday only) yoga at work
4:00 or 4:30 pm start commute home
5:00 to 6:00 pm arrive home
5:00 to 6:00 pm Dinner
6:00 pm TV, chat, surf LJ & other websites
8:00 or 8:30 pm bath and reading time
9:30 or 10:00 pm Go to sleep
Reply | Thread | Link



crystalrmartin
User: crystalrmartin
Date: 2011-02-25 01:26 (UTC)
Subject: (no subject)
6:00am - Up...uh well supposed to be up.
6:30am - Actually up, getting older kids off for bus.
7:20am - out the door, drop daughter off at "before school program," grab coffee.(Most important moment of the day!)

8:00am - Algebra M-F (yeah now you see the need for said coffee.)
9:00am - Criminal Justice Mon/Wed Math work Tues/Thurday.
10:00am - Tues/Thurs. Pilates - Love it.
11:00am - 2:30pm Errands for mother any and all appointments.
3:30pm - Grab daughter from School
5 - 6 Dinner.
7 - 9 Homework, Writing, FB,
10 - 11 Bed and up to do it all again the next day.
Reply | Thread | Link



Button
User: supersniffles
Date: 2011-02-25 03:02 (UTC)
Subject: (no subject)
First alarm at 1245
Actually get out of bed about 1300
Feed cats, guinea pigs, mice, lizard, turtle and fish.
Get dressed, out the door at 1345
1355 Stop at gas station for snacks and smokes
1420 arrive at work, find parking
1430 begin work.
2300 work ends.
Depending on the day I either go home or to karaoke.
Between 0100 and 0230 I eat dinner.
0400-ish bedtime
Reply | Thread | Link



alumiere
User: alumiere
Date: 2011-02-25 03:39 (UTC)
Subject: all these times are -ish...
noon - wake up, take morning meds, try not to get sick; log in to the world and see what's going on, update twitter tracking
1:30 - prep the rest of today's meds and tomorrow morning's, fix lunch, eat lunch and take lunch meds
2-7 - surf web, nap, read, write, do requisite useless job hunting, sew, work out, paperwork, cleaning, errands, go to the store, etc - this is all so dependent on how I'm feeling physically and mentally it changes daily; unless I'm going out to the club this is usually when my "1 thing" happens
7-8 - fix dinner (often reheat leftovers or talk T through cooking if I'm wiped), eat, take dinner meds, if I'm feeling really good clean up the kitchen afterwords (usually I just run water in the dishes, they can wait)
8-11 - maybe watch some netflix or hulu; if it's a club night get ready and head to the club
11-midnight - (or when I get home from the club) take bedtime meds, wind down with a book or something, I should be asleep within the next hour or so

I seem to need anywhere between 8 and 16 hours of sleep per day depending on how I'm feeling, and whether I need to catch up on (or get ahead on) spoons. The "1 thing" is the major activity for any given day - it may be groceries, taking a shower/dressing, working out, going out to the club for a few hours, hanging out with friends, writing/reading, etc - or it may be nothing at all. I think that is the most frustrating thing for me; I miss being able to do multiple things each day; it especially bothers me that if I work out, I'm pretty much done - no cooking, no shower, and I'm going to bed early and sleep late tomorrow.

And I've had people ask me why I save spoons or go into a deficit to go out - between T carrying me up the stairs, falling asleep on one of the sofas, and the bit of dancing I do it seems odd. But the dance floor is the one place where I feel like myself, my aggro goes away and the pain and other crap isn't in my headspace for a little bit. I am terrified of what will happen when I can't dance at all; it keeps me centered and sane.

Wow - that was a long answer. As an aside, I think I today's reading things are beginning to click (I'm at about page 100) so now I'll go back and start again with the hopes things make sense this time.
Reply | Thread | Link



Jay Lake
User: jaylake
Date: 2011-02-25 03:48 (UTC)
Subject: Re: all these times are -ish...
Ah me. Dance as much as you can, and read well.
Reply | Parent | Thread | Link



browse
my journal
links
January 2014
2012 appearances